Inaugural meeting of the Expert Council for Award in Humanitarian Logistics

Panel decides which projects submitted for the Lynn C. Fritz Medal for Excellence in Humanitarian Logistics will be presented to the jury. Award is designed to recognize organizations that value supply chain management and to encourage them to undertake projects that will have impact. The start date for online applications is in March 2023.

The Expert Council for the Lynn C. Fritz Medal for Excellence in Humanitarian Logistics met virtually for its inaugural meeting in late December. The panel with eight international members decides which submitted projects will be voted on by the jury of the Lynn C. Fritz Medal for Excellence in Humanitarian Logistics. Among other things, the Expert Council decided on details of the application process, the start of appointments for jury members beginning in January, and the start of the application period in March. Members of the 2023 Expert Council are:

Martijn Blansjaar, Head of Logistics & Supply, Oxfam (UK).
Martin Dalton, Head of Logistics, Concern Worldwide (Ireland)
Thilo Jörgl, Managing Director of the Logistics Hall of Fame and Executive Chairman of the Jury for the Award (Germany)
Prof. Dr. ir. Sander de Leeuw, Chair of Operations Research and Logistics, Wageningen University & Research (Netherlands)
Syon Niyogi, Corporate Services Director, International Water Management Institute (Sri Lanka)
Mitsuko Mizushima, Program Director, Fritz Institute (USA) and Election Commissioner for the Award
Sarah Penniman-Morin, Senior Director for Global Supply Chain Management, Catholic Relief Services (USA)
Benjamin Safari, Head of SCM Services, UNHCR (Switzerland)

The medal will be awarded for the first time to humanitarian organizations and their partners for outstanding logistics projects at the Logistics Hall of Fame gala reception in Berlin at the end of 2023. The Logistics Hall of Fame and the sponsor, the Fritz Institute in San Francisco, aim to highlight the importance of outstanding logistics achievements within the sector and to promote innovative approaches to strengthening disaster relief.

"The award is intended to motivate humanitarian organizations to continuously improve their supply chain network. It also aims to demonstrate the central importance of professional supply chain management to the success of relief operations" emphasizes Thilo Jörgl, Jury Chairman of the Lynn C. Fritz Medal. The start of the online application process at is March 2023. Each organization can apply with its own project. Joint projects of several organizations and their partners are also admitted. The completed project from logistics must not be older than three years. Who wins the award is decided by an international jury made up of representatives from science, business, academia, politics, associations and the media. Key evaluation criteria include efficiency, innovation, sustainability and exemplary character for the field of humanitarian logistics.

The Logistics Hall of Fame, which is under the patronage of German Federal Minister for Digital and Transport Dr. Volker Wissing, will present a total of three awards in Berlin at the end of 2023: In addition to the traditional induction of the new member into the Hall of Fame, the organization will present the Lynn C. Fritz Medal as well as the the Logistics Leader of the Year Award to current pacesetters in logistics. The Hall of Fame can be accessed free of charge at any time at and provides detailed information and images about logistics milestones and their movers and shakers.



  • 24/7 GmbH
  • AEB
  • Bundesministerium für Digitales und Verkehr
  • Bundesverband Güterkraftverkehr Logistik und Entsorgung
  • Bundesverband Materialwirtschaft, Einkauf und Logistik
  • Bundesverband Spedition und Logistik e. V. (DSLV)
  • Bundesverband Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Logistik
  • Bundesvereinigung Logistik
  • Deutsches Verkehrsforum
  • Duisburger Hafen AG
  • European Pallet Association e.V. (EPAL)
  • Exotec
  • Fritz Institute
  • GARBE Industrial Real Estate
  • Gebrüder Weiss
  • German Association of the Automotive Industry
  • German Parcel and Express Association (BPEX)
  • Goldbeck
  • Häfen und Güterverkehr Köln AG
  • HIAB
  • impact media projects
  • International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations
  • International Road Transport Union
  • Interroll Group
  • Krone
  • Lebensmittel Zeitung
  • LIP Invest
  • Locus Robotics
  • LOGISTIK-Kurier
  • LTG Landauer Transport- gesellschaft Doll
  • materialfluss
  • pfenning group
  • PSI Logistics
  • RIO - The Logistics Flow
  • Schnellecke Logistics
  • Seifert Logistics Group (SLG)
  • Setlog
  • SSI Schäfer
  • STILL (Donor)
  • TGW Logistics Group
  • trans aktuell
  • Wiltsche Fördersysteme
  • Winner Spedition